Yooralla Media Awards

The Yooralla Media Awards recognise reporting across all media that has helped to challenge stereotypes that unfairly define people with disability. They were first held in 2009.

These awards celebrate coverage that accurately, positively and sensitively portrays the achievements of people with disability and the issues they face.

The Yooralla Media Awards attract entries from around Australia in print, broadcast and online media and photojournalism categories.

Our judges 

Some of Australia’s finest journalists form part of the judging panel for these awards, including Alan Howe, Executive Editor of the Herald & Weekly Times; Michelle Grattan, Canberra-based Political Editor of The Age; Ross Stevenson, a member of 3AW’s top-rating breakfast program; and Steve Carey, Director of News for Seven News Melbourne.

They are joined by Dr Rhonda Galbally AO, chair of the National People with Disabilities and Carer Council and former CEO of the Australian Commission for the Future; Fiona Smith, Trustee of the Reichstein Foundation, Governor of the Australian Council of Social Services and Yooralla Board member; and Kirsten Deane, Executive Director of the National Disability and Carer Alliance.

Entry criteria and categories 

Criteria for entry includes journalistic quality, promoting disability rights and the depth and continuity of coverage. Categories extend across print and digital mediums.

How to enter

View submission terms and conditions and submit your entry online.

2013 winners

View the 2013 Yooralla Media Award recipients.

Back to Top