Understanding Information Linkages and Capacity Building (ILC)

Posted on 19 February 2016 by Yooralla

Tier two of the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS), information linkages and capacity building (ILC), is categorised into five streams. Let's explore what these streams cover.

Information linkages and capacity building (ILC), known as tier 2, is designed to provide broader support to people with disability and the sector. This tier is categorised by five streams of support.

Stream one: information, linkages and referrals

Information, linkages and referrals will connect people with disability, their families and carers with appropriate disability, community and mainstream supports.  It will provide the information that people usually need to make decisions about the type of support they want to access.

Some examples of these support and services might be:

  • disability or condition specific information
  • information about the types of specialist and generic services available
  • information that assists people to navigate systems
  • advice about access to specific specialist advice or information
  • support for diverse populations, particularly culturally and linguistically diverse communities
  • support to coordinate referrals for people with psychosocial disability to access clinical and mainstream services that will meet their needs

Information available to people through ILC will be tailored to make sure that people get the information that they need. This may include face to face meetings, online resources, telephone advice or a gateway function to access alternate networks or service systems.

Stream two: capacity building for mainstream services

A primary objective of the NDIS is to ensure people with disability can connect with and access mainstream supports. 

Mainstream services are considered to be government funded services such as:

  • education
  • health care
  • public housing
  • transport
  • employment services
  • or services provided by the community or private sector, like a swimming pool, neighbourhood house, men’s shed, gym or theatre.

The NDIS is not intended to replace mainstream or universal services; rather it looks to interact with these services to contribute to a social model of support.

Responsibility for services and support currently delivered by these government or community services are expected to continue and be enhanced by ILC or NDIS funded packages of support. 

Stream three: community awareness and capacity building

Investing in community awareness and capacity building will create opportunities for the social and economic participation of people with disability, their families and carers, improving personal outcomes and strengthening the connection between people with disability and their communities.

Community awareness and capacity building initiatives may include:

  • opportunities that enhance the capacity of local communities to identify local practical solutions, including training
  • public campaigns to improve disability awareness
  • creating personal networks that connect people with disability to opportunities
  • community activities in which people with disability can participate
  • consulting with, or incorporating the views of, people with disability, their families and carers in the provision of goods and services
  • investing in product design and technology to facilitate the inclusion of people with disability in the community.

Stream four: Individual capacity building

This stream focuses on building the capacity of individuals to enhance outcomes, drive market changes and build potential cost savings for the NDIS. By building individual capacity for some participants who might otherwise become reliant on funded support packages, the ILC will divert those who require less intensive or episodic support from tier three of the scheme.

Effectively delivering this stream can mean that people are better able to communicate their preferences and to make informed and independent decisions about the delivery of individual capacity building services and support such as:

  • diagnosis-specific capacity building such as short term orientation for participants with a vision impairment
  • programs or counselling for people who are caring for someone with disability
  • programs to provide parents with skills and information about disability
  • professional development for carers or community providers
  • decision making supports and supports for self-advocacy
  • diagnosis specific peer support groups

Stream five: local area co-ordination (LAC)

Local area coordination (LAC) is the first of the five streams to be tendered to service providers for delivery of this support. 

LAC will work with individual participants to determine their eligibility to access the NDIS and prepare an individual plan where the support required is not at the level of complexity that requires the NDIA to plan with the participant. It is estimated that the LAC provider or providers will plan with about 60 per cent of NDIS participants in the future.

The LAC will also work to develop relationships between participants and their families, carers and the local community. This role will connect across all streams of the ILC to build individual and community capacity and enable access and participation for people with disability in their local community.

LACs will play an important role in liaison between participants, families, providers and the community and the NDIS.

Learn more about the NDIS

Stay informed on the NDIS!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe now