National Disability Insurance Scheme transition timeline

Posted on 24 September 2015 by Yooralla

Transition arrangements have been developed following the announcement of agreements between the State and Commonwealth governments to transition the whole of Victoria into the NDIS by 30 June 2019.

Information has been released that indicates when the NDIS will be available to Yooralla customers in areas across the state.

View the NDIS transition timeline infographic.

Year 1 (2016/2017 financial year)The NDIS will be available in:

  • North East Melbourne from 1 July 2016
    Banyule, Whittlesea, Yarra, Nillumbik, Darebin
  • Central Highlands from 1 January 2017
    Ararat, Ballarat, Golden Plains, Hepburn, Moorabool, Pyrenees
  • Loddon Region from 1 May 2017
    Campaspe, Central Goldfields, Greater Bendigo, Loddon, Macedon Ranges, Mount Alexander

It is estimated that a total of 20 205 Victorians (including the 5102 in the Barwon trial site) will be in receipt of an NDIS support plan by the end of the first financial year.

Year 2 (2017/2018 financial year)

The NDIS will be available in:

  • Ovens Murray from 1 October 2017
    Alpine, Benalla, Indigo, Mansfield, Towong, Wangaratta, Wodonga
  • Inner Gippsland and Wimmera South West from 1 October 2017
    Bass Coast, Baw Baw, Corangamite, Glenelg, Hindmarsh, Horsham, Latrobe City, Moyne, Northern Grampians, South Gippsland, Southern Grampians, Warrnambool, West Wimmera, Yarriambiack
  • Inner Eastern Melbourne and Outer Eastern Melbourne from 1 November 2017
    Boroondara, Knox, Manningham, Maroondah, Monash, Whitehorse, Yarra Ranges
  • Hume Moreland from 1 March 2018
    Hume, Moreland
  • Bayside Peninsula from 1 April 2018
    Bayside, Frankston, Glen Eira, Kingston, Mornington Peninsula, Port Phillip, Stonnington

A further 30 493 Victorians are expected to transition in the second year.

Year 3 (2018/2019 financial year)

The NDIS will be available in:

  • Southern Melbourne  from 1 September 2018
    Cardinia, Casey, Greater Dandenong
  • Brimbank Melton and Western Melbourne from 1 October 2018
    Brimbank, Melton
  • Goulburn, Mallee and Outer Gippsland from 1 January 2019
    Buloke, East Gippsland ,Gannawarra, Greater Shepparton, Hobsons Bay, Maribynong, Melbourne, Mildura, Mitchell, Moira, Mooney Valley, Murrindindi, Strathbogie, Swan Hill, Wellington, Wyndham

By the completion of full scheme transition 30 June 2019, it is estimated 105 324 participants with disability accessing support.

Stay informed on the NDIS!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe now